Recognizing Jesus (April 7, 2013)

“The more you know about the teachings and character of Jesus Christ, the more confident you’ll become following him.” {p.35 ‘The 10 Second Rule‘}

Reading and studying the gospels will bring you closer to Jesus in a miraculous way.  When I was in the sixth grade, my teacher started each day by reading from the book of Matthew.  She told us that something special would happen if we read Matthew ten times.  I have done this many times since, and there’s definitely truth to what she said.  But it is also true of all of the books of the Bible.

Reading something over and over again gets it ingrained in your mind.  It becomes a part of you.  You will make new discoveries each time you read it.  It’s remarkable, special and miraculous–you will begin to recognize God’s voice.

“Jesus’ followers recognize his voice because they’ve studied his words and his life so intently they’ve developed a spiritual ear for God.” {p.36 ‘The 10 Second Rule’}

[Read Luke 6]

Luke 6:46 “So, why do you keep calling me ‘Lord, Lord!’ when you don’t do what I say?”

How can we say Jesus is our Lord when we don’t obey His instructions?  Jesus wants our total surrender.  He wants our heart.  If we know His voice, we know what He wants us to do.  Our obedience is key to our relationship.  It is the measure of our love.  God will love us no matter what.  We don’t have to do anything to earn His love.  However, if we love God, we will show it through out obedience.

Father God,
You don’t require works for our salvation.  It is our belief in You, Your Son, His death and resurrection–it is faith.  But we can’t be truly faithful if we don’t obey Your commands.  Open my ears to hear and give me a heart that listens.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

