Partial Surrender–a compromise we can live with (April 5, 2013)

“Grace abuse is holding God to his promises while using them as an excuse to break our promises to him.” {p.24 ‘The 10 Second Rule’}

The real purpose of grace is to do what we can’t not what we won’t.  Is good enough, well, good enough?  Do we really think compromising with God to assuage our guilt honors or glorifies the God who saved us?

Surrendering all to Jesus means everything–our thoughts, our money, our time, our material things, even our loved ones.  All of the things/people we hold dear were never ours to begin with.  They are all gifts from God–blessings poured out on us for no other reason than that He loves us.  We didn’t do anything to earn them.  Whatever we do is never enough to repay Him.  When we are only willing to surrender a portion of our life and heart, we cheapen the grace God has spent everything He has to give us.

{Read Luke 4}

Luke 4:8  Jesus replied, “The Scriptures say, ‘You must worship the Lord your God and serve only Him.'”

When we refuse to surrender all and continue to hold on to something or someone, that one thing or person has or will become an idol in our life.  Anything that keeps us from doing God’s will or takes us away from serving God is an idol.  We are told in the Scriptures to worship and serve God only.

Father God,
This world offers many distractions and opportunities that keep me from serving You.  The idols among us take time away from You.  Help me identify the idols in my life.  Show me what needs to be done so I can be completely and totally surrendered to You.  Partial surrender is really none at all.  I want to surrender all.  Release my grip on the things of this world.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

