‘The 10 Second Rule’ (April 3, 2013)

“Just do the next thing you’re reasonably certain Jesus wants you to do. (and commit to it immediately–in the next 10 seconds–before you change your mind).  ~ {p.15 “The 10 Second Rule“}

Does this fill you with anticipation or fright?  Maybe because God often asks us to do things outside of your comfort zone, breaking down the barriers in our heart and opening us up to hurt, pain and rejection.  But…it also brings the joy of obedience, the overwhelming presence if God and renewed hope.

(Read Luke 2)  Luke 2:34-35 ~ Then Simeon blessed them, and he said to Mary, the baby’s mother, “This child is destined to cause many in Israel to fall, but he will be a joy to many others.  He has been sent as a sign from God, but many will oppose him.  As a result, the deepest thoughts of many hearts will be revealed.  And a sword will pierce your very soul.”

The Good News divides people–those who believe and those who don’t.  People can’t always see beyond the lives and deeds of those who tell the story of Jesus.  But, if they see Jesus’ message lived out in our lives, they may come to understand.  God does not force Himself on us.  He wants us to voluntarily come to Him.  If we aren’t living a life of surrender and submission, we won’t be able to do what God has called us to do.

Father God,
Every minute that I am alive is another opportunity to show someone else how much you care for them.  When You plant a seed of opportunity in my heart, open my eyes and give me boldness to follow through.  Even when they show no appreciation or gratitude, I will remember that I am doing it for You not them and will receive a better reward then the praise of men. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

