A Rule of Life (April 2, 2013)

“A Rule of Life is a motto, vow or promise which, if lived out courageously and consistently, at some point changes us from who we are to the men and women we truly long to become.”  (p. 13 “The 10 Second Rule“).

In the first chapter of  “The 10 Second Rule” Clare DeGraaf gives two examples of simple obedience and generosity which, had the participants given it any thought to what they were doing, might have declined.  We hear stories about people blessing others through their service, etc., but have we become those people who give out of our abundance to those who have a need?

“What is it that causes one believer in Jesus to become a passionate follower, someone whose life significantly impacts other lives, and another to settle for a life of beige Christianity? — A decision.” (p. 14 “The 10 Second Rule”).

We want to make obedience to God difficult by searching for His will for our lives when actually it is very simple–“Follow me,” Jesus says.  “Do what I do.  When you see someone in need, do what you can.”

(Read Luke 1:39-80)

“You are blessed because you believed that the Lord would do what he said.” (v. 45).  

Today, when you see someone looking for Jesus, show him or her where He is.  Be a passionate follower.  Don’t settle for  a life of beige Christianity.

Father God,
We want a Damascus Road experience before we “agree” to follow Your call to simple obedience.  We want something definite to show us Your will when we just need to be observant and see the needs of those around us and do something to show them that You care for them.  Open my eyes to those who need to know how much You love them and give me the resources I need to help them.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

