Examining Your Faith (March 23, 2013)

2 Corinthians 13:5,11  Examine yourselves to see if your faith is genuine.  Test yourselves.  Surely you know that Jesus Christ is among you; if not, you have failed the test of genuine faith.
Dear brothers and sisters, I close my letters with these last words:  Be joyful. Grow to maturity. Encourage each other.  Live in harmony and peace.  Then the God of love and peace will be with you.

There have been times in my life when I have doubted my faith.  Actually, it was more like doubting God, but God was faithful even in my time of doubt.

When I was in college, I had a brief struggle with doubt.  One Friday morning during my prayer time, I challenged God about my doubt.  I asked God for proof that He was there and that He cared about me and what happened in my life.  I closed my Bible and went on with my day without ever giving my challenge a lot of thought.

That evening a group of friends and I went to the mall ( a thirty-mile trip).  On the way, a flat tire caused us to have to stop in a rough area of town.  We got out of the car, and my friend was about to change the tire when a young teenage boy on a bicycle came to our aid.  Never speaking, he started about the work of changing the tire while we stood around talking.  The driver went inside the convenience store to get cash to pay the young man.  However, when she returned the boy and his bicycle were gone.  Not one of us saw him leave.  There was no way he could have left without someone seeing him.

No one but me gave it a second thought.  There was no doubt in my mind that this was my sign.  Whenever doubt tries to rear its ugly head, I think back on this event and know beyond a shadow of a doubt that God is present and He does care.

That is my test.

Father God,
I thank You that You care about every detail of my life even the insignificant ones.  Help me be an encouragement to others when they have doubts.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Struggles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

