Getting Right With God (March 21, 2013)

Romans 10:3-4 For they don’t understand God’s way of making people right with himself.  Refusing to accept God’s way, they cling to their own way of getting right with God by trying to keep the law.  For Christ has already accomplished the purpose for which the law was given.  As a result, all who believe in him are made right with God.

For some, following rules is comforting.  It’s a simple task even if they do it completely right.  Even if there was a formula for right living, it wouldn’t be as simple as the invitation Jesus offers.  Jesus has shown us the Way–He is the Way, the Truth and the Life.  Why do we insist on our own way?  Why is it more comfortable to follow rules or a formula?  They give us a goal and a sense of accomplishment if we are successful.  But God has said we won’t find success in following a rule or chasing a formula.  There is only one way to right living with God and salvation–God’s Way.  So easy, yet so difficult for stubborn folks like me.

Father God,
Thank You for making our salvation more about relationship than religion or a strict adherence to rules.  Even though rules are comforting, Your grace and mercy are overwhelming.  Thank You for sending Your Son to save me since I cannot save myself.

Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

