Faith without Doubt (March 11, 2013)

Matthew 21:21-22 Then Jesus told them, “I tell you the truth, if you have faith and don’t doubt, you can do things like this and much more.  You can even say to this mountain, ‘May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ and it will happen.  You can pray for anything, and if you have faith, you will receive it.”

I have mountains in my life that need to be thrown into the sea.  The trouble is that my faith wavers.  Or, could it be that I enjoy climbing my mountains over and over again?  If I let them go, there will be no more excuses and nothing to blame for my thoughts, my actions, my attitudes.  Or, maybe I am afraid of what will replace my mountains.  After all, life is filled with trouble.  Better the trouble that I’ve come to know and understand than something new and different, right?

I’ve been waiting for my troubles to pass instead of asking God in faith to throw them into the sea.  My task in the coming weeks is to pray to release my mountains into God’s mighty hands so that I can be free.  I will pray until my faith increases and God fulfills His promise.  What about you?

Father God,
I have some tall mountains in my life.  I want them removed from my life.  Moreover, I want to really want them gone.  I no longer want to use them as an excuse or for something to blame.  Throw them, Lord.  Stomp them. Drown them.  Help me in my unbelief and increase my faith. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Struggles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

