Obedience and Blessings (March 8, 2013)

Haggai 2:19 “I am giving you a promise now while the seed is still in the barn.  You have not yet harvested your grain, and your grapevines, fig trees, pomegranates, and olive trees have not yet produced their crops.  But from this day onward I will bless you.” 

The world says, “If you are unhappy, do something about it.” It sometimes convinces us that God wants us to be happy, so when we are dissatisfied, we need to make a change.  Maybe we are unhappy at home.  Maybe it’s our job that’s leaving us unfulfilled and frustrated.  But what if God says, “Stay.”  What if staying means you remain frustrated?  What if there’s no indication that it gets any better?  What if you remember that at one time you prayed for this job and you honestly felt like God had led you to your job?

God has a purpose for you where you are.  He only asks you to be obedient and wait on Him.  Easier said than done.  I have been there.  I’ve battled with God and lost.  My arguments fell on deaf ears.  God did not force me to be obedient.  He didn’t force me to stay.  He gave me a choice.

I made a covenant with Him. Here is what I prayed: “Lord, I am believing You have a purpose for my life and it involves my job.  I’m not happy about it, but I agree to be obedient to what I hear you saying to me. You have promised to bless my obedience.  I humbly request that You send me a rainbow–a sign like You gave Noah.”

And soon after I read this verse in Haggai.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Obedience. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

