A Call to Repentance (March 6, 2013)

Joel 2:12-13 That is what the Lord says, “Turn to me now, while there is time. Give me your hearts.  Come with fasting, weeping, and mourning.  Don’t tear your clothing in your grief, but tear your hearts instead.”  Return to the Lord your God, for He is merciful and compassionate, slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love.  He is eager to relent and not punish.

The book of Joel speaks volumes to us today.  It is a prophetic book with lots of implications for our time.  As we draw nearer and nearer to the Day of the Lord, we should be mindful of our relationship with God–as a nation and as individuals. In Joel 2, God is almost pleading for us to turn back to Him with sincerity not just show.  He is well aware of our hearts and our true motives.

There will come a day when repentance will no longer be possible.  When we die, or if we are still on earth on the Day of the Lord, if we have not admitted that we are sinners, repented and asked for forgiveness while proclaiming Jesus as Lord, we will have forfeited our chance to live eternally in God’s presence.  Turn back now–while there is time.

Father God,
Thank You for Your mercy, compassion and unfailing love.  fove me now.  I offer You my heart.  Help me to be obedient in all things.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

