God’s Reputation (March 3, 2013)

Ezekiel 39:25 “So now, this is what the Sovereign Lord says: I will end the captivity of my people; I will have mercy on all Israel, for I jealously guard my holy reputation!”

When we choose to follow our desires and care only for our own needs, we are being held captive by sin and selfishness.  Our self rebels against God because we are fooled into believing that God will wait for us without disciplining us. How many times do we have to suffer the consequences of our actions before we realize that God would rather guard His reputation than allow us to keep going in our sinful ways?  He cannot allow believers to continue sinning in the same way unbelievers do or those watching will get the wrong idea about God and will not turn away from sin and start following God.  If God does not protect His reputation, people will get the impression that either He doesn’t exist or He doesn’t care.

Father God,
My actions have eternal consequences; therefore, you must discipline me when I start down the wrong path.  Sometimes we don’t take into consideration that someone is watching us.  I want to be a person after Your own heart.  I want people to see You when they see me so they will want to know You better. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

