Obey and Stay (February 26, 2013)

Jeremiah 42:10, 15-16 “Stay here in this land. If you do, I will build you up and not tear you down; I will plant you and not uproot you. For I am sorry about all the punishment I have had to bring upon you.”
then hear the Lord’s message to the remnant of Judah. This is what the Lord of Heaven’s Armies, the God of Israel, says: “If you are determined to go to Egypt and live there, the very war and famine you fear will catch up to you, and you will die there.”

Do you find yourself in a place that is unsatisfying and unfulfilling?  Are you afraid if you stay there you will live unhappily forever?  But God wants you to stay.  In fact, He directs you to do three things:

  1. Stop praying for a new place (situation, circumstance, etc.) and pray for where you are or what situation you are in.
  2. Stop complaining and find ways you can improve your place, situation, circumstance.
  3. Work as unto the Lord and do your best while you are called to this place.

If you fail to obey God, you will never find the rest and satisfaction you seek.  The Israelites, even when warned by Jeremiah, refused to listen.  They didn’t have the insight that Jeremiah had or the wisdom of their forefathers.  All they knew was what their eyes showed them–a desolate land promising only famine and death.  But God had a plan of restoration.  They only had to give up their dream for a little while.

Father God,
It is hard to give up on our dreams.  If our dreams are Your dreams, You have promised to return them better than we could have ever done on our own.  I pray today that my place of dissatisfaction will become a place to glorify Your Name and be filled with joy, contentment and blessing.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

