Captivity (February 25, 2013)

Jeremiah 29:10-14 This is what the Lord says: “You will be in Babylon for seventy years. But then I will come and do for you all the good things I have promised, and I will bring you home again.  For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord.  “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.  In those days when you pray, I will listen.  If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.  I will be found by you,” says the Lord.  “I will end your captivity and restore your fortunes. I will gather you out of the nations where I sent you and will bring you home again to your own land.”

Jeremiah prophesied that the Israelites would be taken into captivity to Babylon where they would be kept for 70 years because of their sinful and idolatrous behavior.  Does God allows us to be taken into captivity because of our sinful behavior?  Are you living in a dry and barren land?  Are you being held captive in a season of want or lack?

It is God’s desire for you to look for Him wholeheartedly and He promises to be found.  He desires our prayers and our seeking after Him.  It is during this time of yearning and seeking that we truly find deliverance and God’s grace, mercy and forgiveness.  Only when the desires of our heart lead to glorifying God’s name will we be released from our captivity.

Father God,
I am praying and seeking after You today and desiring to return from my land of captivity to the living water of my promised land.  I praise You today for Your grace and mercy during this time of drought.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

