Motives (February 24, 2013)

Jeremiah 17:10 But I, the Lord, search all hearts and examine secret motives.  I give all people their due rewards, according to what their actions deserve.”

We can’t hide anything from God.  He can search our hearts and find every secret thought and feeling we’ve hidden there even if it’s buried so deep we can’t remember it.  Not only can God find them.  He also searches our secret motives and, if necessary, brings them out into the open for inspection and dissection.  How painful this can be sometimes.

God sees through our attempts to do good things with impure motives and rewards us based on what our motivations are rather than our actions. Before performing a good deed, it would be best to examine our motivation.  If we are doing good for selfish reasons, we should pray for God to help us purify our hearts and our motives.

Father God,
We do good things for the wrong reasons sometimes.  We want worldly recognition or a pat on the back when we should be glorifying Your Name.  Remind me to examine my motives before embarking on a project or good deed.  Keep my heart and motives pure.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Serving God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

