Worthless Idols (February 23, 2013)

Jeremiah 2:13 “For my people have done two evil things:  They have abandoned me–the fountain of living water and they have dug for themselves cracked cisterns that can hold no water at all!

When we live our lives totally surrendered to the will of God and surrender control of our lives to Him, we experience the flowing of God’s fountain of living water to flow into and through our hearts.  When we reject God and try to live life in our own power, we discover soon enough that life is hard and no matter how much strength and power we receive, our cracked cisterns can no longer satisfy our hunger and thirst for God.  We become an idol–worthless to God.

God calls these two things evil–abandoning God and living for self and selfish desires.  Each day we are called to die to ourselves and live for Christ.  It is not about what we are giving up.  It is all about what we receive in return–the flow of God’s eternal love, grace and mercy through our lives.

Father God,
My human nature desires to live life in my own strength refusing to admit my need for Your help.  We are told by the world that dependence on You is a crutch that makes us weak; however, it is only when we turn to You that we discover the strength and power to do the things You have assigned for us to do.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

