Our Plans, God’s Direction (February 15, 2013)

Proverbs 19:21  You can make plans, but the Lord’s purpose will prevail.

Proverbs 20:24 The Lord directs our steps, so why try to understand everything along the way?

I sometimes think God divided people into two groups–those who don’t like change and those who like to create chaos just to see the predictable react.  In fact, I’m sure God enjoys the entertainment.  I’m very predictable.  I like schedules and plans and having a general knowledge of what’s coming.  I don’t much like surprises.  When order is disturbed, I have to stop and regroup which sometimes leads to inaction.

But I’ve noticed that even though God has a plan and a schedule, He doesn’t often follow a straight, easy path to get there.  Maybe we misread God’s instructions (out of ignorance or defiance) or try to take a shortcut.  Or, maybe we go down the wrong path. I can imagine how frustrated God must be when we stray from His purpose for our life because I don’t like diversions from my plans, that is, unless I have written them into my schedule.

I’m sure God planned for diversions from His plan, namely, the plan to send His Son to save us because He knew we’d mess up.  Or, allowing the Israelites to wander in the desert for 40 years because they were disobedient.  God wants us to make plans, but He also wants full control over our decisions.  He directs our paths so that we will be where He wants us to be.  When you look back, you will be able to see when and where He has led you to bring you where you are.

Father God,
I make plans, but it is You who lead me where I need to go.   When I look back, I can see Your hand guiding me (sometimes nudging) to where You want me to go. Sometimes I have tried to rebel, but, in the end, I realize You were doing what’s best.  Help me remember this when I struggle with Your purposes in my life now. Help me submit to them and be joyful in the process.  Encourage me though I may question Your motives.  Give me vision to see Your ultimate goal.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

