What a lack of faith can cost you (February 11, 2013)

Psalm 78:19-22 They even spoke against God Himself, saying, “God can’t give us food in the wilderness.  Yes, He can strike a rock so water gushes out, but He can’t give His people bread and meat.”  When the Lord heard them, He was furious.  The fire of His wrath burned against Jacob.  Yes, His anger rose against Israel for they did not believe God or trust Him to care for them.

These verses shame me. How often God provides for me often, often without asking, and I still complain that it’s not enough.  Month after month year after year God’s provision comes as surely as the sun rises and sets, yet I want more.  I certainly don’t deserve it.

God was furious with the Israelites when they showed their disbelief and lack of trust in Him–so much so that He almost destroyed them.  I do not want to disappoint God or make Him angry by my demands for more while showing my lack of trust in Him.

Father God,
Forgive me for all of the times I came to You and demanded more when You had already blessed me with enough.  When my faith is faltering, help me remember all of the times You have rescued me in the past.  I want to stop acting like a spoiled child and become a grateful believer.  Thank You for Your provision in the future even as I struggle to stop asking for more.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

