God’s Desire (February 10, 2013)

Psalm 51:16-17 You do not desire a sacrifice, or I would offer one.  You do not want a burnt offering.  The sacrifice You desire is a broken spirit.  You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God.

What good are our sacrifices if we do not obey God’s Word?  What good are our offerings if we do not repent of our sins?  What God desires is obedience and a repentant heart.  He wants us to see ourselves for who we are and look to Him for who we can become through brokenness, repentance and obedience.

God will not reject those whose spirits have been broken to sin and whose hearts are repentant.  He graciously offers forgiveness to those who ask.

Father God,
In these days when it is fashionable to be lovers of self, show me my sin.  Break me from the bonds of sin and accept my repentance.  Give me an obedient spirit that will glorify and honor You.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

