Response to Suffering (February 5, 2013)

Job 4:6 Doesn’t your reverence for God give you confidence?  Doesn’t your life of integrity give you hope?

One of the many lessons from the book of Job is that God’s ways are not explainable.  We may never know why God allows things, good or bad, to happen in our lives.  When we are experiencing a time of struggle, do we turn to God or do we depend on our fear of God or our goodness?  Do we tell God how good we’ve been and demand a change in our circumstances?  Or, do we evaluate our choices and consider that we are suffering the consequences of a bad decision?

Our purpose in a crisis is to turn to God in faith, and allow His goodness and wisdom to manage our actions.   Maybe we need to repent.  Maybe we need to change what we are doing.  Sometimes we just need to accept that God knows what He’s doing even if we do not understand it.

Father God,
You are the Decider.  You know what will give me strength and wisdom.  You know the future.  You have a plan.  Help me become a person of integrity so that I can be a part of Your plan.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

