Dear to God’s Heart (January 31, 2013)

2 Chronicles 7:16  “For I have chosen this Temple and set it apart to be holy–a place where my name will be honored forever.  I will watch over it, for it is dear to my heart.”

When Jesus died on the cross and was resurrected, the whole dynamic of worship was changed forever.  No longer did the people have to travel to the Temple for the Priest to intercede and offer sacrifices for them.  Now the Temple is our body and we must invite Jesus to come in.  Now Christ is our Mediator and Intercessor.

As a result, we are a people set apart to be holy and whose purpose is to honor and glorify God.  God promises to watch over us because we are dear to His heart.  Notice that God said “watch over us”.  We are responsible for our obedience because God also promised that sin would separate us from Him.  He won’t be forcing us to make righteous choices.  That is the thing we must decide to do.

“Jesus, I need to give myself up.  I am not strong enough to love You and walk with You on my own.  I can’t do it, and I need You.  I need You deeply and desperately.  I believe You are worth it, that you are better than anything else I could have in this life or the next.  I want You. When I don’t, I want to want You. Be all in me.  Take all of me. Have Your way with me.”

~from “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan as quoted in “At the Feet of Jesus” by Joanna Weaver.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

