Advice from the man who won God’s heart (January 30, 2013)

1 Chronicles 28:9  “And Solomon, my son, learn to know the God of your ancestors intimately.  Worship and serve Him with your whole heart and a willing mind.  For the Lord sees every heart and knows every plan and thought.  If you seek Him, you will find Him. But if you forsake Him, He will reject you forever.”

David was the man after God’s own heart.  David’s advice to Solomon is good guide for all of us.  By studying Scripture and spending quality time in prayer, we can learn to know God intimately.  We find God’s character, His values, His morals and His commandments tucked away in His Book.  We grow closer as we talk with Him and listen for His still, small voice.  We worship and serve Him wholeheartedly when we focus our attention on Him rather than on what’s going on around us.  When we take our focus off of Him, we find distractions of selfish motives and desires creeping in.  Serving with a willing mind means that we act out of love and appreciation for who God is and what He has done for us rather than out of a duty or obligation.

Knowing that God sees and knows our plans and thoughts makes it easier to evaluate our motives.  God promises that if we seek Him we will find Him.  He isn’t a hide and seek God.  He is always present.  It is up to us to look for Him.

Father God,
My desire for this year is to know Your vision/plan for this season of my life.  You have promised that if I seek You, I will find you.  I desire, more than anything else, to have an intimate relationship with You–to put aside my selfish agenda and motivations to worship and serve You wholeheartedly.  Help me, Lord, fulfill my desire to follow You. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Service, Struggles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

