The Still, Small Voice of God (January 26, 2013)

1 Kings 19:12 And after the earthquake there was a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire.  And after the fire there was the sound of a gentle whisper.

“The problem with religious spectacle is that the steady, repeated, raucous noise will eventually make us hard of hearing.  And that will make it impossible to hear God’s normal tone of voice.”  ~ Mark Galli

With the popularity of contemporary worship services came the belief that loud music was a good and proper way to praise and worship God.  I’m not trying to be critical.  I enjoy the updated music and order of worship, but I struggle with the volume of the music, the lighting (or lack thereof) and smoke which fills the air giving the atmosphere of being at a concert.

I agree with Mr. Galli. In a worship atmosphere filled with noise, lights and smoke, when do we have the opportunity to hear God.  Is He trying to speak to us, but we cannot hear Him?

Father God,
There is a lot of noise in our world today.  Noise that drowns you out.  Even during praise and worship we hear so much noise that we can’t hear your still, small voice.  Give us clarity in a world filled with noise.  Clear out the cacophony of sounds that inundate our lives so we can hear what You are saying.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

