Wholehearted Devotion (January 25, 2013)

1 Kings 8:23 “O Lord, God of Israel, there is no God like You in all of heaven above or on the earth below.  You keep Your covenant and show unfailing love to all who walk before You in wholehearted devotion.”

God should be first on our list of priorities.  We should be so focused on God that everything/everyone else pales in comparison.  We are to give Him our whole heart, not just a portion.  We can’t divide our heart among many and be of any use.

When we serve God exclusively, we are able to do more than we could ever imagine.  Our blessings will increase.  I don’t believe we have to do anything to earn God’s love, nor do I believe serving God brings forth financial blessings or even good health or comfort.  I believe the blessings we receive from our obedience are contained in the fruits of the Spirit– But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. (Galatians 5:22-23).

Father God,
False teachers manipulate us into works theology with the promise of material blessings.  Give us discernment when listening to those who proclaim Your Word to make sure it lines up with the truth found in the Bible.  Bless us with the fruits of the Spirit as we seek to serve, obey and love You.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Service, Serving God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

