Nag, Nag, Nag (January 19, 2013)

Judges 16:16  She tormented him with her nagging day after day until he was sick to death of it.

When we are living in our flesh, we become selfish and insecure.  Women become especially insecure when our spouse refuses to do something a certain way or refuses to do anything at all.  It becomes our mission to force our will on him sometimes with the added emphasis of making it a God thing.  When we nag a man into doing something for us, there is no victory.

In the story of Samson and Delilah, we see two people living out their fleshly desires who care nothing about anything or anyone but themselves.  Delilah, a Philistine prostitute, has been tasked with finding out the source of Samson’s strength.  Samson, a Nazarite Jew, was to remain pure and never cut his hair or he would lose his strength and become like other men.  After several attempts at trickery, Delilah succeeded in manipulating Samson through continuous nagging so that he finally gave in just to shut her up.  In the end, Samson paid with his life, but not until he killed thousands of Philistines as well.

When we think we know what our husbands need to be doing or not doing, or improve what they are already doing, and we feel the need to nag them “day after day” and hour by hour to get them to do as we desire, we are not only causing a breakdown in our relationship with them, but we are also causing a breakdown in our spouse’s relationship with God.  If God has spoken to him about a matter and we try to abort their obedience by forcing our will onto him, we will only cause sin in our life and our spouse’s life and God will not be happy.

Do not let selfish desires interfere with God’s plan for your life.

Father God,
Allow me to see how You are working in my husband’s life.  Remove any selfish desires in my heart that would take him away from doing Your will.  You should be the most important Person in my husband’s life.  May You bless me through the obedience of my husband.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

