Cling to the Lord (January 17, 2013)

Joshua 21:45  Not a single one of all the good promises the Lord had given to the family of Israel was left unfulfilled; everything He had spoken came true.

Joshua 23:8 Rather, cling tightly to the Lord your God as you have done until now.

God keeps His promises.  The proof is in His Word.  What He speaks comes to pass.  Always. It is important that we cling to Him and His Word.  It took over 40 years for the Israelites to enter the promised land.  In the meantime, God was with them preparing the way and preparing them.  He raised up wise men from among them to lead them well.  He provided for their needs, punished them severely when they turned away and blessed them abundantly in their obedience.  It wasn’t always perfect obedience, but God judges the heart.

Thank goodness God takes our good intentions into consideration when judging our actions.  It is comforting to know God keeps His promises.  Even though I am still waiting on God’s promises in my life, those already fulfilled keep me pressing on in the assurance the rest will follow.

Father God,
You have never failed me.  You have allowed some things to happen that I don’t understand, but I know they will work out for my good–they will teach me more about You and Your ways.  Lord, I am clinging to You and Your Word today as I wait for Your promises to be fulfilled in my life. Help me press on in patience, understanding and never lose the hope that is mine in Christ.  Let my light shine in the waiting.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

