The Secret of Success (January 16, 2013)

[A sense of fear awakened me at 3 a.m. this morning, and I felt a strong need to pray.  Since Sunday evening I have been sensing something coming–an event that will affect a lot of people.  As I prayed this morning, God showed me something so basic, I think we often forget it.  He desires our praise and worship–not just on certain days, but daily, continuously.  He yearns to hear the praises of His people.]

Joshua 1:8-9  “Study this Book of Instruction continually.  Meditate on it day and night so you will be sure to obey everything written in it.  Only then will you prosper and succeed in all you do.  This is my command–be strong and courageous!  Do not be afraid or discouraged.  For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

What if we lived our lives around our faith instead of fitting faith into our schedule?  This has been on my mind a lot lately.  We tend to build our lives around our careers, our families, ourselves and then add God and our faith to the mix.  We use our careers and money to gauge our success.  However, the Bible, our Book of Instruction, tells us a story of a holy people set apart to worship God in everything they did–their careers, their families, their lives.  He gave them jobs to do that glorified and honored Him and provided for their needs.  Festivals and feasts honoring and glorifying God were held at specific times throughout the year.  The Sabbath was sanctified, a holy day set apart from the rest of the week to honor, praise and worship God.

In return, God blessed them and caused them to prosper.  Somewhere along the way, we’ve forgotten our purpose.  Instead of separating ourselves from the world, we compartmentalize our faith and God’s purpose for our lives.  We have taken success and prosperity to mean financial gain.

God is trying to get our attention.  I’m afraid if we don’t wake up and rise up now we may never get another opportunity.  He desires for us to know Him so that we can praise Him for who He is–not what He does for us.  He wants us to accept Him because He is the Creator not because of what He’s given us.  He will not be taken for granted.

Father God,
You are our All in All.  Your Book of Instruction commands us to meditate on Your Word continually–night and day so that we will have success.  You desire obedience over knowledge.  You yearn for our praise and worship.  Teach us how to be true worshipers and not be just vessels who yearn for knowledge without heart.  Fill us with Your Holy Spirit and show us how to be successful servants in Your kingdom.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

