Called to Obedience (January 15, 2013)

Deuteronomy 26:8  The Lord has declared today that you are His people, His own special treasure, just as He promised, and that you must obey all His commands.

Deuteronomy 28:9-10 “If you obey the commands of the Lord your God and walk in His ways, the Lord will establish you as His holy people as He swore He would do.  Then all the nations of the world will see that you are a people claimed by the Lord, and they will stand in awe of you.”

Every single one of us, as Christians, are God’s special treasures.  Isn’t it wonderful and awe-inspiring that God treasures you?  I’m amazed that God considers me His treasure.  This is the reason why He is so hurt when we disobey Him and sin against Him.

As a nation, we’ve separated ourselves from Christ.   By not speaking out against sin and tolerating acceptance of sin, we have watered down Christianity.  We have allowed Satan to sneak in and steal and destroy our witness.  What we, as a nation, need to do is return to the gospel of Christ.  Our pastors need to preach repentance instead of prosperity.  We need to rise up and fight for the values and morals God teaches in the Bible.

For many years, we’ve believed the United States was a Christian nation; however, it’s been a very long time since other nations looked at us in awe.  It is no surprise.  Every Christian should be obedient to God, serve where He has called them and speak out against the evil lurking in our world.

Father God,
I am not called to be a passive observer.  I am not here to be a slave to my desires and my fears.  I am free in Christ and called to be a servant of God.  Make my heart hurt for those who break Your heart.  Help me discern when to speak out and when to keep quiet.  Give me a boldness to do Your will and wisdom to know how to do it.  Give America back its light.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayers, Struggles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

