Complaining breeds complaining (January 11, 2013)

Numbers 11:23– Then the Lord said to Moses, “Has my arm lost its power?  Now you will see whether or not My word comes true!”

No matter how many miracles God performed, the Israelites continued to complain.  The more they complained, the more frustrated Moses became to the extent that even he, who knew the power of God, began to complain.  No matter how often God comes to our rescue, it is easy to find things to complain about.  Rainy days and Mondays are often reasons enough.  When God doesn’t give us what we want, or when He gives us more than we can bear (and yes, I believe He does in order to increase our faith), we somehow think we’ve earned the right to complain.

In Numbers 9-22, the Israelites are complaining once again–first, because they have no meat; then, because they want to be like Aaron; next, because they have no water and finally, because they are wanderers in the wilderness.  Those who weren’t put to death were doomed to live the rest of their lives in the wilderness.

Lately, I have been finding more and more reasons to complain.  It’s a bad habit.  I’ve been in the wilderness a long time, and I’m ready to enter the promised land, but I still have a lot to learn.  We can’t come out of the wilderness until we learn to trust God and appreciate what He’s given us.  He wants us to recognize the miracles He performs in our lives and appreciate the blessings of provision, comfort and protection He has already provided.

God, in His sovereignty, removed His favor to show the Israelites His power. Don”t let your fears and desires interfere with your relationship with God.  Take notice of the blessings God has already given you and expect nothing less in the future.

Father God,

You are an awesome God.  Only You can create beauty out of nothing and joy out of pain.  Only You are able to perform miracles and provide hope. Many are hurting, disappointed and disillusioned today.  They are wandering in a wilderness of their own making because they refuse to recognize Your powerful Right Hand (Christ).  Even Christians have taken to the wilderness because they think You have forgotten them.  I am in the wilderness of doubt and worry.  Today, I pray that You will bring Your gentle rain into the wilderness of our lives.  I pray that the Holy Spirit will rain down and give hope to the hopeless, encouragement to the discouraged and enlightenment to the disillusioned.

Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Struggles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

