The Priestly Blessing (January 10, 2013)

Numbers 6:24-26

“May the Lord bless you
and protect you.
May the Lord smile on you
and be gracious to you.
May the Lord show you His favor
and give you His peace.”

We all need a blessing now and then.  God knows we can’t function on the steam of an old blessing, so He finds ways to bless us everyday.  Sometimes we get so caught up in our problems we fail to look for or recognize blessings that come our way.  Sometimes we just don’t feel blessed because we are looking for a particular blessing God has not provided, or we want someone else’s blessing and refuse to accept the one offered to us.

Are there times when we misunderstand the promises of God because His definition is different from ours?  Is our perception skewed because we are looking through the eyes of the world?

God’s protection and provision are two blessings I have misunderstood in the past.  We want God to protect us from harm, financial distress, sickness and pain; however, God uses these moments in our lives to teach us how to trust Him.  We want Him to give us financial blessings above and beyond what we need when all that is required is our daily bread.  God wants us to live for Him, not things.  He knows that we need Him every day, but we sometimes forget.

God’s peace is another blessing that is misunderstood.  Our peace involves control of people and events over which we have no control.  God’s peace is a matter of resting in the knowledge that you have given control of your life to God and He is taking care of the things You are concerned about so you can love others and serve Him.

Father God,

Your blessings surround me.  Open my eyes so that I may recognize them.  Allow me to feel the warmth of your smile and the overflowing graciousness you bestow.  I am honored to be Your servant on earth.  Help me to listen to Your Word and discover my purpose here.  Give me patience during this time of waiting and preparation.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayers, Service and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

