Purification (January 9, 2013)

Leviticus 16:34  This is a permanent law for you, to purify the people of Israel from their sins, making them right with the Lord once each year.

Leviticus 17:11b It is the blood, given in exchange for a life, that makes purification possible.

Leviticus 19:2b  You must be holy because I, the Lord your God, am holy.

Even though the blood sacrifices of animals are no longer required because of Jesus’ death on the cross, it does not mean that we are not required to repent and seek forgiveness for our sins.  Our hearts must be pure to be holy before the Lord.

God has set us apart from non-believers which means that so much as it is possible, we need to strive for purity and holiness.  Only the blood of Christ coves a multitude of sins–nothing else will do.  In order to come into God’s presence, we must acknowledge Christ as God’s Son and the sacrifice He made.

Father God,

It is impossible to live on this earth without sin.  I am grateful for Your gift of salvation through the sacrifice of Your Son.  Too often Christians trivialize this event and make it glamorous.  Lord, allow us to see the horror of what Jesus went through so we can fully appreciate the beauty of our own salvation and the price of purification.

Make me holy, Lord, as You are holy.  Though this will involve some, or maybe a lot of, pruning, fill me with Your wisdom, strength and love so that I will be willing to release and let go of those things that keep me impure.

I want to come into Your presence–pure, holy and whole.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

