Keep the fire burning (January 8, 2013)

Leviticus 6:13  “Remember, the fire must be kept burning on the altar at all times.  It must never go out.”

When we invite Christ to live in our hearts,  He burns in us like a fire.  While He lives in us, He gives us strength and courage to do the things He has called us to do.  But just inviting Him to live in us is not enough.  We must keep the fire burning and not take Him for granted.

First, we must avoid temptation to sin and when we become aware of sin, we must immediately repent and make amends.  Second, we must stay in relationship with Christ through prayer and personal Bible study.  Third, we must praise and worship God, both personally and corporately.  Fourth, we must serve others however God has called us.  If we fail to stay connected to Christ, our fire will go out and we will lose the enthusiasm and love we once had and our light will no longer shine.  The good news is that Christ is ever willing to return to us once we return to Him.

Once way we get burned out is by doing things God has not called us to do.  that is why we must stay in relationship so He can guide us to the path He has marked out for us.  Too often we let others decide where we will serve, but if you are not serving where God has designed you to serve or doing things God has gifted you to do, you will easily tire of service and the fire will dim.  Take time to stroke the fire by finding your gift and place of service.

Father God, It’s too easy to look to others for guidance about where I need to serve.  Help me search Your Word and Your heart for the right ways to serve so I can increase the fire in my heart and not allow it to go out.  Show me my gifts and help me use them for Your glory.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Service, Serving God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

