Finding Rest (January 7, 2013)

Exodus 31:17b For in six days the Lord made heaven and hearth, but on the seventh day He stopped working and was refreshed.

Exodus 33:14  The Lord replied, “I will personally go with you, Moses, and I will give you rest–everything will be fine for you.”

Busyness has become a sign of value in our society so taking a day of rest is hard to justify.  Even our rest has become work. We take snippets of rest and call our 4-6 hours of sleep rest.  But God told the Israelites they would be severely punished if they didn’t abide by the requirements of the Sabbath.  Although we aren’t living under the law, when we fail to take a day of rest, our bodies and minds suffer.  We live tired and frustrated lives and get short-tempered and easily angered.

Look at the promise God made to Moses in Exodus 33:14.  We won’t be destroyed if we take the time to rest.  In fact we might be better.

Father God,

Help me seek after Your rest.  Teach me how to rest in You so that I can be the person you created me to be.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

