Moses, the Reluctant Servant (January 5, 2013)

Exodus 3:11–But Moses protested to God, “Who am I to appear before Pharaoh?  Who am I to lead the people of Israel out of Egypt?”

Some people never question God when He calls them while others don’t believe God could use them because of some weakness or defect.  But God knows what He’s doing.

Who am I? Beyond the earthly roles of daughter, granddaughter, wife, mother, niece, aunt, employee, friend, etc.  Who am I?  I am a child of God specifically chosen for a God-given task which He has prepared me to do.  He has chosen me.  He created me to do something.  He designed the task.  Yet, I can’t figure out what it is.  I know what I want it to be.  I yearn for my calling.  I envy people who receive their calling and it’s all they ever wanted.

Sometimes I wonder if God has remembered me.  Why, after 47 years, do I still wonder about my calling concerned that He has passed me by?  Then, I remember Joseph sitting in prison for years trusting God and finally seeing the results of his faith and trust.  I remember Moses who wasn’t called until he was 80 years old.

So, in 2013, I am earnestly seeking, praying and doing whatever is necessary to prepare myself for my calling and searching for my purpose until such time as God decides to show me His desire for my life.

Father God,  Help me prepare my heart through Bible study and prayer.  Give me wisdom as I read Your Word to find those tidbits of knowledge that will lead me closer to You.  Help me prepare my soul through prayer as I use my prayer time to earnestly communicate with You by giving You my desires, my concerns and requesting peace in my heart over my circumstances.

Help me prepare my body through diet/nutrition and exercise so that I can participate in activities necessary to fulfill Your plans as well as living long enough to complete the tasks you ask me to do.

Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

