Open Heart (January 4, 2013)

“The only requirement for a deeper friendship with God is showing up with a heart open and ready to receive.”  –At the Feet of Jesus by Joanna Weaver

Genesis 41:16:  “It is beyond my power to do this,” Joseph replied.  “But God can tell you what it means and set you at ease.”

Why do we feel like it’s God’s responsibility to show up in our lives?  We want God to do all the work while answering our prayers.  Praying is easy.  Showing up is hard.  We want easy relationships–those that require minimal effort with great gain; however, any rewarding relationship requires sacrifice and hard work.  We must let go of our pride and be willing to forgive.  After all, no relationship is perfect.

Joseph and his brothers demonstrate the complications of relationship.  In his youth, Joseph was impetuous and foolish.  He had grown up the favorite son of his father.  He was likely doted on by his mother.  Maybe he didn’t realize his dreams were more than just entertainment.   It is more than probable he knew repeating them to his brothers would elicit jealous behavior.  He just didn’t know when he had taken it too far.

But when it was important, Joseph showed wisdom and put aside his feelings and his pride and filled the position God created for him.  He showed up.  What is most interesting is Jacob’s reaction to the testing of his faith.  He must have sat at his grandfather, Abraham’s feet and heard the story of how God worked in his life.  Yet when his faith was tested, he, like many of us, doubted the goodness of God.

While we believe that God is present and we know how He is apt to work in the lives of others, when we pray and worship, do we show up (mentally and emotionally), whether life is easy or difficult?  Do I reflect my faith when I pray?  Is this why sometimes God tarries when He otherwise might not?

Can I take something that is beyond my power to do or solve and ask God to tell me what it means and set my mind at ease regardless of the answer?  Can I truly honor Him if I do otherwise?

Father God,

I want to show up.  I want to honor You with my faith just as Abraham did.  I want to develop a deeper friendship with You.  Let my worship be the genuine result of a life lived totally devoted to You with my eyes ever fixed on Christ.

In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayers, Struggles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

