A prayer to start 2013

2013

Lord Jesus,

On this first day of 2013, I give You my life.  Instead of making resolutions this year, I want to make changes.  The first change I seek is to live a life of unselfishness.  I want to live my life, first for You, and then for others.  This will be difficult, but I know I can trust You to work in me.

The second change I want to make is to life my life intentionally and with focus.  This year I intend to work with You to find my purpose even if it means giving up those things I enjoy to find it.  I want to let go of the presuppositions I have relied upon so that You can work through me.

Third, I want to change the focus of my heart from my circumstances to Your very presence in my life.  Even though my circumstances may not change, I will have a clearer vision of why I am here and what I am supposed to be doing.

These three changes will require a deeper trust and more intense faith than I’ve ever had.  Today, as I begin 2013, I put all of my faith in You.  I refuse to listen to negativity.  I will not fear the future though it appears bleak.  You are my future, and I intend to seek after You with all of my heart, soul, and mind.

Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Prayers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A prayer to start 2013

  1. kathleenjonesnola says:

    I would like/need to pray this prayer every day of the year.

Leave a Reply

